Always Stay True to Yourself

As some of you who follow my Twitter account may know – I’m not a massive fan of Michael Vaughan. As an avid England supporter, I’ve found his tone very downbeat and negative and especially during the Ashes, he was constantly berating the English players.

Plus, he’s friends with Piers Morgan, but that’s another story.

However, as we all know, recently, Michael Vaughan wrote an article about Ben Stokes, describing him as one of England’s future stars who has been let down by the England set-up. This is more than a valid argument to make and there are certainly premises which show that the England environment clearly isn’t the right set-up to allow talent to suceed.

But the main issue in the article lie with the conflict of interest. Michael Vaughan is a Business Development Manager at ISM – a sports agency who have players such as Joe Root on their books (who Vaughan has praised repeatedly). They also have Ben Stokes.

Now the issue lies (pardon the pun) with the fact that on Twitter, Michael Vaughan has claimed that he has never held this role. Proof below:

I hear you ask, surely you have proof that Vaughan is a Business Development Manager?

Well, I thought I did. A quick Google search of “Michael Vaughan Business Development Manager ISM” brings up 148,000 results. Most notably, there is one from the BBC, Michael Vaughan’s current employer, which I’ve provided here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/cricket/22524555. Ignoring the fact that this is an article praising Joe Root (!!!!) the quote of “Vaughan, business development manager for ISM” kind of gives it away that he has once held this role.

Michael Vaughan was also once employed by the ECB. If you ever hear him on the radio, you might hear him mention that he was once a captain. Therefore, I wonder why the ECB have published an article stating that Vaughan is a “new role as a business development manager”. Surely, two employees can’t get it wrong: http://www.ecb.co.uk/news/domestic/vaughan-joins-management-company,307883,EN.html

Or what about if ISM themselves got it wrong? This article here from Cricinfo has a quote from Andrew Chandler, Group CEO, of ISM, annoucing Vaughan into the role: http://www.espncricinfo.com/england/content/story/425951.html

Mind you, what if Michael Vaughan himself was wrong?

What?

That’s right. The final line on Michael Vaughan’s personal website describes himself as a business development manager!!!!! http://www.michaelvaughan.net/profile.html

So, I’ve got one message to Michael – Stay True to Yourself. Don’t be fooling the public with the nonsense over ISM. In fact, I’d like to refer to you to one comment you made in your autobiography. As we know, you’ve been very critical of Cook this year, some of it justifiable, but remember the words of Ray Illingworth. When he criticised you after you became captain and I quote directly:

“the only person who had seriously had a go at me was Ray Illingworth, a predecessor at England. He’s written that he thought I was not strong enough to be captain. I couldn’t believe it. From someone who had played for my county I would have expected support”.

Very wise words, Michael. Maybe you should listen to your advice on the following page:

“One thing I will never do is criticise younger players once I’ve finished playing”

Indeed. Indeed.

I’d like to thank my friends from the Pitch Inspection – @NickSharland and @EoinJPMorgan for their questioning of Michael Vaughan in preparation of this piece. Make sure to give @PitchInspection a follow where we will be writing articles, interviews and much more. Opening in time for the World Cup

4 responses to “Always Stay True to Yourself”

  1. jennyah46 says :

    ‘Oh what a tangled web we weave…’ Things are rarely what they seem to be in the malestrom of cricketing intrigue. Good work in bringing this to us. MI5 could use you! 🙂

  2. wrongunatlongon says :

    Thanks for this; definitely something to note next time I’m forced to listen to TMS. Unfortunately cricket as a sport is so inbred that it seems rare for anyone who has an opinion not to have conflicts. I wouldn’t mind seeing appendixes to almost everything I read noting these links.

  3. Dennis Freedman says :

    Brilliant. The tweet thieving scum bag has been proven a liar.

  4. RW says :

    But he was a great captain and still reads the game so well. Something that is lacking currently within the present England set up.

Leave a comment